Studio1 - Version Dread -

Version Dread – Studio One
LP, CD & Digital

OK, this may sound a little odd, but sometimes you see advance information about a release and it fills you with so much excitement that it transports you to Christmas morning as a six year old. Hands up, I know I am sad, but that’s how I feel about some new LPs. I also have a sneaking suspicion that I am not alone… So beneath the imaginary Christmas wrapping paper what do we have here? A double LP package, red vinyl and twenty tracks of fantastic Studio One ‘versions’, are you starting to feel the anticipation? Check out this ‘unboxing’ video to get a sneak peak.

Studio One

Version Dread is not new, originally released in 2006 it has been out of print for some time. Picking up an original copy will set you back quite a few pennies. Since 2016, Studio One has been partnered by Yep Roc Records to reissue some of their classic albums and Version Dread is the next worthy release in the series.

Winston Rodney

This is such a strong collection of tracks that picking out one to highlight was difficult. But Winston & The New Establishment and the B-side of their Creation single is my standout. Winston, as you probably suspected, is Winston Rodney who is better known as the legendary Burning Spear. This is a truly beautiful track, Winston’s vocals are so vulnerable and the gentle dubby rhythm makes this a nigh on perfect reggae track.

The compilation is out now but… I have a feeling my European readers are going to find this more difficult to pick up. Despite my enquiries I cannot find a European retailer, so you may well have to order direct from the Studio One link here. We do hate those extortionate shipping charges, but in this case I think it is worth it for this cracking package.

The track listing is below, what do you think? Is this an album you are going to pick up, is there a particular track you would like to own on vinyl? Let me know in the comments. Bless, Paper Lion.

  1. Ernest Wilson & The Sound Dimension – Why Oh Why Version
  2. Sound Dimension – Fire Coal Version
  3. Winston & The New Establishment – Creation Version
  4. Sound Dimension – Please Be True Version
  5. Willie & The Brentford Rockers – Armagideon Version
  6. The Soul Vendors – Born to Dub
  7. Sound Dimension – Pick Up Version
  8. Lloyd Robinson & Brentford Disco Set – It Deep, Pt. 2
  9. Sound Dimension – Version Dread
  10. Sound Dimension – Declaration Version
  11. The Soul Vendors – Things a Come Up to Dub
  12. Sound Dimension – Zion Lion
  13. Cornel & The Brentford Rockers – Natty Rub a Dub
  14. The Heptones & Sound Dimensions – Give Me This Version
  15. The New Establishment – Fire Version
  16. Basil Daley – Hold Me Baby, Pt. 2
  17. Sound Dimension – Train Is Coming, Pt. 2
  18. The New Establishment – New Broom, Pt. 2
  19. Ernest Ranglin & The Sound Dimension – Surfing (Extended Mix)
  20. The New Establishment – Never Give Version (Extended Mix)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


News, Reviews


, , , , , , , , ,